ISO 45000

ISO 45000


¿What are the main changes from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001?

OHSAS 18001: 2007 is Workplace Health and Safety Management System structured in six main sections:

  • 4.1 General Requirements
  • 4.2 Workplace Health and Safety Policy
  • 4.3 Planning
  • 4.4 Implementation and Operation
  • 4.5 Monitor, Measure, and Report of Performance
  • 4.6 Top Management Review

This model is going under revision. Its new version will be published as ISO 45001 Workplace Health and Safety Management System eliminating OHSAS 18001:2007. The publishing date will be late 2017. The model changes to a seven section structure based on a plan, do, act, and improve cycle.

  • 4.0 Context of the Organization
  • 5.0 Leadership and Employee Participation
  • 6.0 Planning
  • 7.0 Support
  • 8.0 Operation
  • 9.0 Performance Evaluation
  • 10.0 Improvement

This change in the structure ensures that the cycle is complete. Planning and prevention are the focus of this change. Sections and specifications are aligned with other Standards such as ISO9001:2015 and ISO14001:2015 in order to facilitate the integration of multiple systems into one. This change makes it easier, more efficient, and precise to manage, control, audit, and revision the system.

One of the most relevant changes is in Section 5 Leadership. All the personnel identified as leaders are held accountable. This improves responsiveness in all the levels of the organization.

Another change in the Management System is in the company´s strategy, Section 4 Context. This allows for a more dynamic strategy for the company. Legal Requirements are still present in the new standard.

Finally, The Workplace Health and Safety Management System must be capable of improving levels of health and safety, eliminating or minimizing work related risks, and must take advantage of the opportunities and non-corfimities related to Health and Safety.

By Adolfo Barrientos


Comenta o Pregunta