What is a business continuity management system ISO22301?

The Business Continuity Management System ISO22301, BCMS, is based on the cycle Plan, Do, Check, Act. The main objective is to protect an organization from disrupting events such as interruptions in operations, to reduce the occurrence, to have contingency plans, and to have recovery plans.

BCMS identifies threats and real risks for the organization. This includes the consequences that they could have on the organizations products and services.

BCMS establishes the foundations to increase resistance capacity of the organization to respond in case of an event. This foundations look for the welfare of the stakeholders, company reputation, brand, and valuable activities. It establishes recovery plans to reinstate acceptable product and service delivery. Its important to mention that resources and activities depend on each organizations ability and the cost of the event.

BCMS has seven sections:

Ciclo PHVA Sections
Plan Sección 4.0 Context,

Sección 5.0 Leadership

Sección 6.0 Planning

Sección 7.0 Support

Do Sección 8.0 Operation
Check Sección 9.0 Performance Evaluation
Act Sección 10.0 Improvement

This standard is aligned with other standards making it easier to integrate. It is compatible with ISO9001, ISO14001, ISO27001.

By Adolfo Barrientos



Comenta o Pregunta